rachelsmom

By dorrit

Ready for Rachel.

It is never easy letting your children go even though that is what you raised them to do - spread their wings and fly into their future. You help them learn and gain all the tools they will need for whatever kind of success they want. Letting my youngest daughter, Rachel, go was the hardest, though. I helped her gain those tools, helped her learn and experience all she could in our little town, but she needed to go somewhere where there was more opportunity for her. When she was about to turn twenty-one, she said it was time and she moved to California with her sister and brother-in-law.

I have missed her so much but knowing all of the things she has accomplished and been able to do has made it bearable. She works with small children with disabilities, she plays basketball and golf. She competes in swimming and track and has won medals in both. Her goal is to become an actress and as pretty and smart as she is I think she just might achieve that goal also!

Tomorrow I leave to go pick her up because she is coming home for the summer! While I am there I will see her in swimming competition and watch her compete in Special Olympics track events. I hope she wins another medal but whether she does or not she is still a winner - and the best part is she knows it!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.