Leopard's Bane

This grows in abundance at the north side of our house on some uncultivated ground. It looks lovely in the evening light.

This afternoon I went to the funeral of Hugh Norman, who lived on the other side of the Cairn valley. I can't remember how I met Hugh, but I've known him for 20 years at least. He and his partner Angus used to open their house and garden every May for fundraising afternoons and evenings. We would stroll through their stunning bluebell woods on the slopes of Steilson Hill and then come back to the house for a magnificent tea. Hugh baked the best Dundee Cake in the world and teased me mercilessly when I became vegan because it was made with butter but I still have the memory of how good it tasted. I walked to and from Irongray Church along lanes frothing with cow parsley; the church was packed and so was the graveside. I was fine until Angus read a poem he had written for Hugh after his death.It was very sad.

D is at the AGM of the Irongray Community Council tonight and I've opened a bottle of beer left over from Sarah and Chris's wedding :-)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.