Ramblings from Zambia....

By dcafrica

Drumming!

Well its been a long day and its not over yet - after I post this I have to prepare a presentation for tomorrow!! I doubt if I will manage to have a look at any blips tonight!

Today we went to visit some community based childcare centres where a radio programme targeting caregivers and children has been used as a learning tool since February! The first centre we went to was actually very encouraging - its in a rural area but had a great building and play area. I have a picture of the kids sitting in a circle with the radio in the middle of the circle waiting for it to begin, but then I chose this one of a small boy very energetically playing a rather large drum in the playground.

The programme is in the local language and is really assisting in ECD centres where caregivers have little knowledge of ECD. They are given instructions and then the children are given instructions. The programme lasts 30 minutes and there are many activities packed into the programme. I found it worked very well in the first centre and then children went out to play. This centre had a lot of play materials, most bought materials which were donated by someone from UK.

The second centre had no play materials and after they listened to the programme went into classes with desks and chairs and had a formal school lesson! (what we don't want to see).

Tomorrow it not such a practical day - its just giving reports and discussions, and if I don't get off this website, I will have no report to give!

Thanks for all your encouraging comments as always!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.