Reading Waterways Festival

After a terrible nights sleep due to the heat, I set out a little later than planned to Reading on the bus..  I usually go straight to the station but today I got off by the old 'Huntley and Palmer' biscuit factory buildings - now flats or apartments!

A short walk took me to the Kennet and Avon Canal by the Abbey Ruins an the Waterways Festival.  I was very glad of my hat, sun cream and water.  I stopped to chat and discovered there were boat trips running, so I went on the first one..  It was cooler on the water and interesting canal boat trip, but I was made up as we came back in, to see these lovely cygnets with Mum or Dad, so they had to be my blip today.  A few more in extras of the Abbey ruins.

Afterwards, I wandered around the ruins and found some craft workshops - sadly all booked up previously online (but I didn't know about the festival until last night via Facebook).  

I got chatting to one of the artists who was going to be demonstrating a form of lino printing.  She told me about some workshops in Reading at Jelly which was great to know about!  There is also a photography one, I'm keen to attend in July.  Watch this space :)

After a bit more wandering, I found a lovely rest area run by the churches in Reading, it was cool and shaded, and I spent time chatting to someone there which was really nice.

I went back to the usual bus stop at the station, and didn't have to wait too long for the bus.  

However, on the bus there was a man - he obviously had some sort of problem - he kept touching us women :(:( and he was talking to himself all the time.  An elderly woman who'd sat next to me told him off and said he'd be in trouble for doing what he was doing..  

Shortly afterwards she got off the bus at her stop, but he followed her.  I sat and worried if she'd be alright, I hope she was.  

The bus has cameras on board, and I spoke to the driver.  She said she'd checked the lady was OK as she got off and that she'd waited until the man had gone onwards before she started walking away.  Scary though....

When I got home, I sat in the cool indoors and had some lunch, then fell asleep on the sofa for a while.  Not doing a lot for the rest of the day.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.