Pilgrimage

With around some 45 others I today joined a pilgrimage to Lindisfarne on the Holy Island. The photo is similar to the one I took on 10 July 2015 -
https://www.blipfoto.com/entry/2066300805127864836

But this time I was walking across the causeway with most of the group. It took about 2 hours on sometimes slippy sand/mud but it was a time of fellowship and good chat. I succeeded in climbing one of the pilgrim’s safety station midway, used to escape from the incoming time. Very rickety now!

The day was perfect. Sunny with a cool breeze and the island looked splendid with the roses and poppies in bloom and the birds signing. I even had time to visit the castle and Gertrude Jekyll garden. Her younger brother knew Robert Louis Stevenson who took the surname for his 1886 novella, the Strange Case of Dr Jekyll and Mr Hyde.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.