Hot Cat

Enjoying the shade under a car!

Certainly 25 degrees in the shade, hitting 30 degrees otherwise.  After almost six months of lousy but very 'fertile' weather, we now appear to be heading towards a string of heat waves.  Our pump at the waterfront is a huge help for the backyard.  Finding myself thankful we don't have a front yard, especially as there isn't any faucet in the front we could have attached a hose to, which is also the prime reason we cannot wash the car.  A trip to the local car wash should be in order.  Mañana!

Particularly thankful I finished ALL essential exam-checking work today.  I also had to change browsers twice to get TEAMS working as that bloody program decided to conk out while I was busy.  Changing browsers meant I had to re-install the program twice.  Never mind, I managed.  The only thing left to do at school now is to be available in case students want a perusal.  There's also a series of intake interviews I'll be conducting on Thursday, something I oh-well-why-not volunteerd to do (with pay, of course), and then maybe, just maybe, I might continue work on my grammar PowerPoint, simply because I like doing that sort of thing.  Grammar lectures in 30-degree heat?  How extreme is that!

Not having much more to do in connection with work automatically means more time for the hunt, as well as more time for housekeeping.  There are a handful of easy-to-achieve household tasks I've mentally lined up, and the one-at-a-time approach should do the trick.  The last thing I want to do is leave the proverbial stove on whilst we enjoy our holiday elsewhere.  Thankful for tasks accomplished, thankful for the moments I can live in the here and now.

This cat looked timid and wary, but I know from experience that that can be misleading.  The moment I took one step towards it, it crept away to the middle of the car.  Clearly one of Egypt's goddesses on an adventure!  I cropped the shot for a closer look.

Comments New comments are not currently accepted on this journal.