JohnHeuston1

By JohnHeuston1

The rush hour beer

Right beside a busy intersection, on the way out of Glasgow to head south-east, lies this billboard. 'Rush hour?', an ad for Heineken. The audience is car drivers, the product is alcohol. Clearly the message is more sophisticated than just the link and connection I've made, but it's an easy leap to take, an easy conclusion to jump to. Slow down and stop rushing? Or leave the car and get to the pub?

I've got this theory about communication theory. Communication only works if the receiver understands the sender goes the theory. Ok, I add, but as long as there's something going back the way. A response would be good, a conversation better, dinner and a movie even better. A simple nod would do it, or in the case of a road sign, or a warning, that we do what we're told. In short, it's lovely that you comment on this, it really is. But, he said in a lovingly self-deprecating way if you read and poo-poo or tut disapprovingly, that's proper communication.

So back to Rush Hour? The question mark, that last refuge of the communicator who can't make up their mind, somewhat un-necessary in this case. But properly, back to the ad, and, frankly, to my point. The ad works in one sense, that it has evoked a response and provoked me to blip. On the other hand, it's an ad that doesn't 'work'. I'm not sure I get what it's going for, short of the connection between the alcohol and the car-driver. The whole drink-drive scenario has been done, and the cultural shift has almost gone to taboo. I can't help but go in this direction with the ad.

One more little thing I've got - a professional thing. Critique if you can improve. Now: Rush Hour. Then: Heineken. I'm sure you can do better. Keep the Rush Hour, lose the question mark, add a line. Keep the communication going, carry on the conversation. There's your proper communication model.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.