Rooftop Ronnie

I know "The Red Bull" would have been the obvious title for this blip but let me explain...
A few days go my brother had told me about a red bull being placed on the roof of the pub with the same name in the nearby village of Eccles, it seemed unlikely and I must admit I'd forgotten about it until I opened today's local newspaper, The Kent Messenger, and saw a report about it. I knew that it had to be my blip for the day. So I headed off in the car and once I arrived I walked around to the side of the pub and sure enough there it was in all its crimson glory!
The landlord Tim Gough, who took over the pub at the end of lockdown, received an anonymous tip-off from a customer, who sent him a link to an item for sale and said that they thought he might like it.
He found it listed on an online marketplace and decided it did indeed look interesting. It was made of fibreglass and had been sprayed red. He decided to make a cheeky bid of £250 (it was originally advertised at £500 and had previously been a prop on the set of a British TV programme, How) and if he didn't get it there was no harm done. The offer was accepted and it turned up a few days later. He was now the owner of a life sized bright red bull!
On closer inspection it wasn't actually entirely anatomically correct due to it having both a pair of horns and udders, so the landlord and his team decided to come up with a gender neutral name, calling it Ronnie The Red Bull Cow.
It has drawn a variety of responses from local residents and customers - some being shocked, some considering it an eyesore and some asking how you can have a bull with udders - but the landlord is happy to report that most people have seen the fun side of it. Ronnie will stay on the rooftop for the next couple of weeks and then be moved to the pub garden where patrons can have the opportunity to take a picture with it.
Personally I'm a huge fan of Rooftop Ronnie! :-)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.