stujphoto

By stujphoto

Laburnum

Having decided I wanted to put up an image of our laburnum tree as my blip today, I was somewaht undecided how to do it. A close of one bloom with others in soft focus, a image of the whole tree or just a mass of blooms filling the image. The whole tree was ruled ut early on as the sky was very bland and we have a rogue branch high up which shoots off on its own somewhat spoiling the overall shape of the tree. In the end I decided to go for the mass of blooms as it was the impact of the tree in full bloom which which suddenly hit me yesterday and made me think I ought to be blipping that. Maybe be I will get around to more creative shots later in the season.

For those of you who wish to see the development of the blooms I have included a shot in my portfolio which illustrates the three stages - budding, blossoming and full bloom. Laburnum Stages

From reading up I gather that at one stage the laburnum tree was considered a poisonous tree as all parts of it have a similar effect to nicotine. However, there have been no fatalities and you have to ingest a massive amount of the flowers, the leaves or the pods to even get sick enough to warrant a hospital admission.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.