Grey Heron

A bit of a mixed morning. There were 3 Heron met me at the gate this morning, the middle female (pictured), the adult male and the young male. I gave them all a bit to eat, but the gulls were causing a real distraction so I walked them in a bit under the cover of some trees which got rid of some of the gull activity.  I started feeding them and was doing quite well when they all took of up to the top of the dovecote. I turned and saw the reason. A spaniel was running around chasing them (at the moment that is very irresponsible as there are lots of goslings and signets around who cannot get out the way fast). The owner eventually appeared down the path and just stood there quietly calling on it. I never understand this as they know I have food and their dog is not going to come when there is a chance of a feed but they just stand there. I put the fish away and just stood there staring at the owner and eventually the dog gave up and went away. As soon as it was far enough away the middle female flew down and I got the fish back out. She was followed by the other two plus the crows. I managed to get them all fed without further incident and made for home feeding the crows as I went.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.