creeper

It's that time of year again...I feel that I am constantly cutting back - the compost heap is taller than me. If I don't keep at it, our house will be like Sleeping Beauty's castle, surrounded by an impenetrable wall of vegetation.  Most of it I can manage, but trimming back The Creeper is well out of my comfort zone. Thankfully I have willing and able helpers who don't mind going up big ladders. Sarah has helped with this for many years, but it was a first time for Chris - I am infinitely grateful to them both :-)

Today was the Summer Solstice - at 3.58pm to be precise. It always feels like such a significant moment. I was in the garden, the sun was behind the clouds, everything was still, and then...tilting towards the winter like a marble suddenly going downhill.

Soon afterwards, I set off to collect Luke and Otter from the station. I do like having a house full of people (and dogs!). Sarah and Chris cooked the tea and then we all watched the best climbing film ever. They're all going back to the wall tomorrow.

I'm thinking about a solstice bivvy tonight..

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.