Grey Heron

The Middle female heron (pictured) flew down from the dovecote to the entrance this morning. She was by herself which gave me a good chance to give her a bigger feed. Then a couple of gulls arrived but they were soon chased of by the 2 crows. I ensured the crows got some fish then watched one take it directly to a fledgling and feed it. I moved into the park a bit and spotted a heron on the path. Before I could get to it the male called and flew over. He landed on the slope and was joined by the middle female again and the 2 crows. I fed the male and gave a bit more to the middle female and made my way a bit closer to the heron on the path. It took off as I approached. It must have been the curious one who sometimes shows up. The crows got biscuits on the way back home.
I haven't seen the original young one for some time but am happy that she is safe and will be back if she needs fed.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.