Apples and Oranges

By Anitsirk

Today is Midsummers Eve in Sweden, a special holiday for most of us. When I was young, my family and I spent Midsummer weekend at our summer cottage. I remember strawberries, a nice dress for the day, dancing, folk music, sunshine, laughter and fun. And, of course, surrounded by relatives on my fathers side. Happy childhood memories. :)

Now a days, I spend it on my own. :) I like it that way too. 
Today's been a really good and nice day. :) Food was good, yummy actually... herring (a special kind eaten in Sweden...) with boiled eggs, red onion and potatoes, in a sauce made with mayonnaise, creme fraise and herbs. For dessert I had strawberries with a biscuit (light one that I crushed in pieces, as 'replacement' of cake) and whipped pannacotta. 

Then I went out and started with that corner that's been 'haunting' me for years... I removed what I would save, threw away rubbish and cobweb covered things. And, then I tackled the table made with wood pieces (bookshelf shelfs..) and old bed pieces (made from oak). Those wood pieces were nailed with sturdy nails to the table with the intent to last forever... so, I broke a sweat when I had to straighten the nails with my craft knife (of course the end sticking out on the other side of the wood were bent, to prevent getting caught on) and then hit them (many times...) with the hammer too loosen them and make them move so I could use the hammer in the other side and draw them out by the nail heads. So happy when that was done and the pieces were in plastic bags. I'm putting them in my outside storage for the time being. Then I gave the patio floor a good spray of water and it felt so good to put back what I intend to use. :) I'll continue tomorrow. I need to move everything now against to wall, to place the small greenhouse I have there and then put together my new one where the old one is now. Made strides today and I'm so happy. :) I hope I can finish up tomorrow and also replant some of the plants in the small greenhouse visible in the photo. It would be so great to have this done this weekend and not have to think about it anymore. :) But, even if I just do one or two things tomorrow, I'll be happy. :)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.