In the Middle

The swan seems to have lost its mate, but seems quite content to hang out in the middle of the geese. I was fascinated by what these birds could do with their necks in order to preen (or sleep)more efficiently. And some of the geese are even doing it on one leg....One rarely sees those sturdy black legs underneath the graceful white body of a swan.

A simpler shot is in the extras....

It's been a quiet day. The fog burned off and the sun came out fairly early
this morning, so we took advantage of it and took Spike to Spring Lake. He can't see the geese, but he surely knows they are there  so we try to steer a course as far around them as possible. Their young are growing up quickly, losing their 'baby' feathers, and looking far less like gawky teenagers. A bullfrog in the reeds must be courting as we hear his groaning call as we walk by.

I'm still not finished sewing on the binding as I was interrupted when I spotted a wad of black hair sticking out from under a heavy bookcase. Praying that it wasn't something dead, I gingerly moved the bookcase away from the wall. Nothing dead, but an almost equally horrifying amount of dog hair mixed with spider webs, dust and dirt. I'm not exactly a housecleaning maven, but I didn't think I could have gotten as slothful as to let this volume of grime collect. I'm afraid to look under the heavy credenza in the living room for fear of what might be lurking under there, but there is no question of moving it and the vacuum cleaner won't fit so I suppose that as long as we can't see it, we will pretend it's not there.

I should get the quilt finished tomorrow or the next day. It is different from anything I have done before, and I actually used a pattern. I think it lives ups to its name...'Cheerful Party Quilt.' I'll post a picture of it when it is finished.... 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.