Life in a Northern Town

By kagsy

Life’s a Beach

This was Sunday - we had a wander around Salcombe and a relaxed lunch, before my mum
and step-dad called round for dinner. I made a Thai red curry, which turned out pretty well to say I was missing some key ingredients!

My mum is doing well although her memory is so variable. She cannot remember what happened last year and is finding it very hard to accept that she was so ill. Offers of help are not well received but they muddle along quite well at the moment.

After they’d departed we wandered to the beach for a paddle - so lovely to have the beach so close by, and bittersweet as this beach was so beloved by Lizzie and Luna. We miss them. Although the addition of a new hardwood floor to the house would not have gone down well with Luna! Despite staying here numerous times I’ve never actually slept in a bed here until this trip, I always slept on the sofa with a dog as the stairs are open and wooden - not greyhound friendly.

They are building some new luxury apartments next door - we saw that they are selling for over £1m - crazy!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.