Blue Hamish

By BlueHamish

How times have changed

Strolling around Darlington town centre this morning buying things I probably don't really need when I noticed the stained glass window on a room in the Red Lion hotel which proudly pronounced itself as the Smoke Room. I can imagine that once upon a time it was filled with smoke but not anymore. I'm personlly pleased to see smokers banished to the cold outdoors.

When I was a youngster, we used to go to the British Legion at the weekend, often on Friday, Saturday and Sunday and I can still recall how thick and choking the smoke used to be. I know our parents knew no better, but they weren't exactly giving us a healthy lifestyle.

Diana had to call into the walk in NHS centre today as she had a nasty bite on her arm. All in all they do a marvellous job at these places, but boy do you have to wait around. I think she waited about 3 hours in all. All is well, but she has to keep an eye on it and go to her GP if it flares up. I'm sure it won't.

Late setting off for home now. I suspect it will be 8 o'clock before we get there. Indian takeaway for dinner then. Neither of us will want to cook at that time and besides there will be little to cook with.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.