NothingGetsLost

By NothingGetsLost

I'm not much of a telly watcher but I've been dipping in and out of some of the Windrush stories this week.
Kind of fascinating to hear people's stories that are so intrinsically linked to mine. I dont know much about my relatives Windrush story, not from secrecy I don't think, just getting on with life. I vauglry remember watching a play that Gran and some of "the ladies" were in and a book published called "When my ship comes in".

 But I was pretty young and probably not that excited to sit still and quietly for ages. Surrounded by (lovely!) older ladies who either wanted to touch my hair, delight in my freckles and draw me into singing/dancing because i had rhythm despite the white-ness. Or to bemoan my dislike for cou cou or spicy food generally and sigh that I had so many freckles because of the white-ness.  
I  guess my cousins, friends etc were the first mixed race generation for some of them! 

I've not really kept up with the recent scandal stuff. Mostly my memories are of normal people working hard, scraping a living, living in a fairly close community. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.