Life in a Northern Town

By kagsy

Spoons

This is the Exeter Wetherspoons - widely regarded as the best one in the country; it’s certainly the nicest one I’ve been in. Plus lunch for three including drinks was £23…..

We had a lovely afternoon in Exeter - see extras for the longest continuous medieval vaulted roof in the world - shopping and wandering. As a child we would visit my many great-aunts and great-uncles in Exeter, and for a Plymouth girl it felt like a trip to the big city. I must say the town centre is doing much better than Plymouth’s, partly because the latter was completely destroyed in the war and rebuilt. What was edgy and new in the 40s and 50s now seems old and tired.

The day started with John getting a seed case lodged in his eye on his morning run. It was very firmly embedded so I ended up ringing every optician in a 30 mile radius; we finally found one who would see him, as long as we got there in 20 minutes. I knew we were a 30 minute drive away but we weren’t turning it down! Ed Sheeran would’ve been proud of me driving down those old country lanes…. Anyway, all sorted with anaesthetic and tweezers - ouch! A barbed seed husk - not what you want in your sclera (a word I learnt today). Morning runs through fields are now banned.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.