The Storr

The weather has not been our friend here on Skye.  Nothing achieved yesterday and this morning after breakfast my two companions decided to head down the road.  Truth is, they have struggled for motivation the past few years and are more interested in whisky and beer.  I think the share price of the Tongadale Hotel in Portree will drop now they have headed back to the central belt.

I was a bit more optimistic and didn't want a wasted trip so, once the troops left, I had some work to do and around lunchtime, I made the short journey north to The Storr.

This is a very famous rocky hill, perhaps more famous is the Old Man of Storr but the hill itself is a fine route indeed.  I did the tourist bit to start but once up, I headed up to the Trig point which was extremely quiet.  I met an American couple and a German group but apart from that, we had the hill to ourselves.

My mate D stays in a wee cliff top house at the end of Loch Storr.  You can see his house from the hill.  I called to see if he was home and he was just arriving back from Inverness, so I popped in for a cup of tea, a biscuit and a catch up. 

I was considering driving back this evening as the Skye hills are a no go tomorrow due to the weather but I am planning to attempt the Glen Shiel hills tomorrow but either way I will head south tomorrow. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.