Journies at home

By journiesathome

How to look after a widow #2

The heavy rain has reconfigured the river bed, pushing pebbles into a wide beach and forming a deep fast current on the right bank.  

We shlepped a couple of camping chairs down and cobbled together a pretty good meal. 

Ju got woklely agitated watching a half black man make a fire and banged on about the sins of the Empire etc, but as Ju can't light a fire and Nico's can I told him to cut the craic or we'd never get to eat.

Nico made monkey sounds to exacerbate Ju's discomfort but it made Lizzie laugh. 

A strange boy came down wearing an Aztec hat, moved some stones to redirect the current then disappeared.

I dived in the deep end, turned onto my back and let the river take me down towards the bridge.  A sweet moment of static sound in my ears and tree branches and sky in my eyes.  

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.