Lion's Mane Jellyfish stranded

What a day! I had a lovely walk down Xwaaqw'um. As I walked through the first field, a dog came running towards me and didn't turn back when his owner called him. A very friendly dog, and so was his owner. We had a little chat about birds and bats before we both continued on our walks. I also saw Silver and his owner, hadn't seen them for some time, and we exchanged a few words. I had the place mostly to myself after that except for two women I passed on the trail by the bay. The fields have been hayed, and the smell of freshly mowed hay always brings back memories of our little farm. I saw two trucks loaded with bales in another field, and that brought memories of stooking and stacking! The scent of the ocean spray was so fresh and lovely. It's also called ironwood because the wood is so hard and strong. The Indigenous people used it for many things, including arrows, knitting needles, fishing spears, salmon and clam barbecue skewers and root-digging sticks. G has a couple of ironwood walking sticks.
When I got down to the beach, I noticed many jellyfish stranded on the beach. I haven't seen these for a few years. Had to watch where I stepped! Incredible. I can almost see a lion's face in this one. I blipped a closeup of it in my other journal. Sad to see them stranded.
Worked in the garden when I got home then caught up with a friend after lunch. She lives in Kamloops and it was good to get news of her and her family. 
Extra: a view across the bay

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.