Hirundography

By Hirundo

Reflecting On Risk

Hope you'll bear with me today Blipmates... I'm on a rant! ;)

I ride past this sign every day on the way to work; it's been near some Environment Agency riverbank works for about a month now.

It just feels like dumb corporate-speak and I don't really know what it means. Is it a demand? An aspiration? Perhaps an exhortation to motorists to take care around cyclists? Mmmm, probably not the latter.

Does it mean 100% benefit? That's ludicrous. I can tell you, any drug that does you any good at all, has a measure of harm in the form of side-effects - mostly acceptable, thankfully. Trust me, I'm a etc., etc...

Accepting risk, and that things can sometimes go pear-shaped is just life. In fact, life without risk is borrrring.

Which brings me to photography. The best images seem to be the ones that involve an element of "risk".

We might "ooh" and "ahh" at the chocolate box images (privately anyway!), but the real stunners are those that have involved risk. The ones that are edgy. The ones that show an intimate side to both photographer and subject. Really when we expose ourselves a bit I reckon.

So Blipsters, go out and don't do harm, but do take risks - they're the images we love to see. :)

Comments New comments are not currently accepted on this journal.