cyclops

By cyclops

FMAC / UKAC

Popped the radio on this evening for the RSGB 2m contests.  Didn't here anyone on FMAC, but worked 3 stations on UKAC.  I'm not really competing, but happy to give some points to others who are - every contact counts!

Last month I went up a hill for this event and I had thought I might do that again, but it was rather too rainy for my taste...

Logging software for amateur radio seems to be a bit of a mess.  Lots of different file formats and approaches.  I use Log4OM, which is fairly incomprehensible but I have it working.  It's not really a contest logger.  I should apparently use something else for contests (probably N1MM - which is so incomprehensible I've not even got started with it).

I experimented with submitting a log for UKAC, but eventually gave in and just typed in the data again on a web form rather than trying to wrangle logging software...

Must look at this again when I have more time, but I enjoy the operating a lot more than the messing around with (incomprehensible - did I mention that?) logging software...

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.