Gigantes?

I picked a very small courgette (the first) and a handful of broad beans, plus some bolting lettuces. I must dig out my recipe for lettuce soup - seem to remember it involves green peas and maybe cucumber.....

Some of the climbing beans have started flowering - I think these are gigantes, from Greece via Mr Fish, but my labelling is, as ever, very poor.
There are some red flowers just starting to show on the next teepee - so I'm pretty sure they're the Montacute runners.

News from the island is that the sickly shag that had been sheltering in the oven of the abbot's former kitchen has passed away - it is an ex-shag. I guess they'll have to get it tested to see if it had avian flu, although have never heard of a cormorant or shag succumbing thus far. :-(

Edit: Forgot at time of blipping that I had a totally unexpected but very welcome phone call from Martin Carthy, who I hadn't spoken to for about five years. He wanted to chat about a reference I made in the CD sleeve notes to a James Cameron article  (published in the Daily Express in 1946!).

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.