Skyroad

By Skyroad

Dolly Shot

On the 18.05 train to Westport. First time I've been on a proper train in ages (possibly a decade). I had the laptop and plenty to work on, also books, even an i-pod. I couldn;t concentrate, enraptured by the gorgeous evening cloudshow, the dream-swathe through landscape and townlands. And the people around me, like this young man with a little girl in the next seat. She was black, about four, very neat in a little-girl pink dress with matching socks etc. Could have stepped out of the 1950s. He was white, casual (like myself), dressed like a student except he was outside that age bracket. Well-spoken. A dad, cousin, friend? They seemed happy together. She had a load of dolls laid out on the table. When they left their seats to take a little stroll I saw this little tableau.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.