Common Enchantments

By MaryElizaR

Oh deer!

So this morning and again this afternoon the deer came IN THE YARD!!!  I mean close to the house as you can see in the one photo shot through the deck rail. 
They normally stay at the edge of the tree line but I think they are feeling more secure in our yard which backs up to the woods where I think they have been living.    They were also in the front yard close to my tomato plants!   One naughty guy pull up one of the dianthus!!   He did not eat it but dropped it in the yard...apparently it was not as tasty as he thought it might be.  I replanted it just it case it survives the trauma.

I really don't want to have to chase them away but I also don't want them to eat what flowers I have blooming.  There is one last dahlia that is starting to open so I hope they don't come to that flower bed.   I can't see that bed from any window.  

We have only seen the single fawn.  Hoping the other two are somewhere safe.

They will be showing up again as the day cools off and the sun starts to go down as the corn feeder will be spreading some corn for them.   I hope they only eat the corn!   

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.