The Ophiopogon planiscapus 'Nigrescens' in flower

I brought the ophiopogon into the cabin from the rather exposed bench where I've rather neglected it in the garden for some while. It was an offshoot of the 'main' plant, which is getting quite large, and has been growing on its own for a year now. They are not fast growers. I saw that there were a few flowers on a stem, so I wanted to grab a picture while I could. Too often I miss recording its flowers and then regret it. 

It is such an unusual plant particularly for having such black-looking foliage, especially notable having viewed the black elements in the flowers of the pelargonium ardens I blipped a couple of days ago.

From the Gardeners' World website:
Also known variously as 'Black Dragon', 'Ebony Knight', or 'Arabicus', Ophiopogon planiscapus 'Nigrescens' is an extraordinary looking plant, with purple-green leaves that turn jet black when grown in full sun and well-drained soil. Its dwarf habit means it's easily lost in a border, and so it's therefore best grown on a rock garden, container or raised bed. Left undisturbed it slowly forms fair-sized clumps and looks good interplanted with small perennials such as Geranium farreri.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.