The beholder's eye

By uniqueandlovely

Old and unloved…. but

About to be reborn!
This is a party dress made for me by one of my Great Aunts ( possibly Aunty Doll who was a seamstress) when I was about 5 or 6 maybe, so that makes it around 60 years old!
It is special to me, and why I have kept it all this time partly because I still remember how special I felt wearing it and partly because it was made out of my Mum’s wedding dress with simply beautiful fabric (see extra)
Anyway, sitting in my wardrobe is not really a good use of it and I am sure when I die my girls will have no use for it whatsoever so I have decided to use the fabric in a stitch book I am about to make. That way it can live on in another form, which my girl’s might treasure.
I am about to take the stiff petticoat out and remove the sequins, then I shall wash and dry it, and then the fun can begin!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.