Another day of "Ring Out" events, with a talk on the Cockeys of Frome, concentrating mainly on the bell-founders. Then in the evening we visited a church in nearby Warminster to watch the ringers at their practise session. For health & safety reasons, we had to sit in an alcove with our feet flat on the floor, which limited the opportunities for photography. It was also rather dimly lit so all I got inside was a phone snapshot. The ringers were very friendly and took the time to explain a lot about change ringing. One thing that really fascinated me was the boards showing various ringing events. I'd heard of Stedmans and Grandsire Triple Bobs but Superlative Surprise Major was a new one on me! I did manage to photograph some graffiti on the entrance to the ringing chamber and the view from where we emerged from the narrow staircase before entering the chamber.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.