Lost

You may remember that mama duck brought up 8 babies. Well, long story short, a predator got in the pen and ate 2. Not sure what it was but was really small. It went through chain link fencing. It was not a snake because it left evidence. Johnny thinks a mink or weasel.
Anyway, we reinforced the pen and made it secure. As the babies got bigger we started letting them out in the daytime to go to the pond and mama would bring them back at night.
We had visitors late in the evening . Mama duck would not come up and we counted only 5 babies. When our company left, I walked toward the pond and saw something tiny moving in the middle. It was almost dark but I started snapping anyway to if I could identify. It was baby duck! Johnny got in the canoe and tried to catch it and miss. It saw and heard me on the bank and made a bee lin. I waded out and caught it. Poor baby as exhausted but unhurt. We have no idea how it got separated. I returned it to the pen. They all s em fine today. We are so thankful.
Not the best picture but I like the forelorn look of it.
Be blessed!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.