SpotsOfTime

By SpotsOfTime

Ullswater

…after work swim

R’s Ancestry search has spurred me to check out G’s dad’s records from the Canadian Black Watch website. I have been amazed to discover how detailed they are and to see what I had been told actually written down, genuine historical records from that time. The joining of the unit, his blue eyes (that G most certainly inherited), his height (which seemed to vary!), his listed occupation as farmer, German measles, influenza, fighting at Ypres and wounded on 4 June 1916, various operations to remove shrapnel and shattered bone, convalescence at Epsom, shipping out and service in Siberia. Hard to really comprehend and imagine … and then, how it must have been for his youngest son, G. I know more of G’s history than my own.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.