ELLAphant

By Ellaphant

The 'Molen van Verbeek', Sint Odiliënberg

'Verbeek' = 'Ver-BAKE' -- accent on 'bake'.

The VerBAKE family bought the windmill in the 1950s and the heirs sold it to the municipality of Sint Odiliënberg in 1989, after which it was thoroughly renovated.  Actually, it was built in 1883.

The blue sky isn't very visible due to the thin veil of clouds but the sun shone through that veil and that is what made the shot slightly hazy.  Don't know if I should be happy with the position of the mill, but I appear to have managed by shooting it from the street directly across it.  It was quite a drive going there, no jams, so I am thankful it wasn't wasted.

New genealogy info arrived today -- that was fast!  They'd only received my request last Monday and now I have got the whole package.  That's a record, I think.  So as not to overwhelm them, I think I'll wait a week or two before sending the next request.  Eating away at the huge backlog that accumulated during COVID, during which they changed a lot of policies at the centre.

Supermarket errands and kitchen duties, and AW walked 5 km. to Sweed's and Benna's for Friday evening live bridge, which meant a quiet evening for myself, fully appreciated, and I picked him up at half-twelve.  Thankful for a day well spent.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.