Vintage

Hannah flew back to Manchester, today. What a great house guest she is; the days she's been here have flown by. It helps, I think, that in some respects she and the Minx are very similar: both are great company and gregarious, but each needs time on their own to recharge.*

This morning, Hannah and I got up early for a run, and then the three of us drove over to Nice airport. The Minx and I wanted to have a coffee with Hannah before she went, and we decided to treat ourselves to the 'premium car park'.

And premium it was, not least because it was fully air-conditioned. The spaces were on the generous side, too, and we parked up and took the short walk to Departures, where we all enjoyed a coffee.

I guess we were in there for the best part of an hour before we said cheerio to Hannah and went back to the car. I think the fee was less than fifteen Euros! British airports could learn a thing or two from this (although they won't. I think Manchester now charges you a fiver just to drop someone off at the terminal.)

As we were driving through the underground car park towards the exit, we passed through a whole room packed with vintage cars. It seemed like an odd place to store them - except, perhaps, for the air-conditioning. The Minx speculated that maybe they're for hire. Who knows?

*Once the Minx and I were talking about the fact we are often apart at the start of the week. Just as I was saying that I thought two days apart was plenty, she was saying that four days was enough :-D

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.