Glimpses of Me

By mimi128

Stolen Childhood

During my comings and going in the past week since we've been here, I noticed a road ocnstruction going on a block away from us, near the building that got burned about a couple of weeks ago. I knew that there would be workers there who would be inadequately protected so I went there, intending to blip these:

Health and Safety, Filipino Style and Health and Safety, Too!

But then on my way back, this little boy caught my attention. I saw him carrying burnt wood and plywood from the recently burned down building, helping his father, who was doing the same. I nearly cried watching him. As soon as he sat down to rest on a wood surface that had nails on the backrest sticking out towards him, I asked if he would let me take a photo of him.. He had gloves on, which were two sizes bigger for his hands, then again, he had no shoes nor slippers to protect his feet, nor a hard hat to protect him from falling debris. There wasn't even a cordoned off area to caution people from going in! If you look closer, you'd see his face full of scratches and wounds, his hair matted with dried blood, I bet from something that has fallen overhead within the building.. His body is covered in bruises and scratches.. But the thing that tugged at my heartstrings the most was the expression on his face -- sheer exhaustion, not from playing, but from working.. Something no child should go through and suffer from in their lifetime.. and it pains me to think that there are more of these children, while the corrupt government officials do nothing to help..

I asked him his name and his age, but he only looked at me and wouldn't speak.. The look says it all though.. A little child whose childhood had been stolen from him..

On a much lighter note, if you lovely people still have time, I did a backblip of yesterday's Roller Coaster Sunset.. Please have a look. Thanks ever so much!

Hugs and kisses to everyone!! And prayers for this little boy...

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.