Marjorie's ramblings

By walkingMarj

Music that thrills the heart strings

Today was a tricky old day with a lot to take in.

By late afternoon, my head was spinning and I was tempted to stay home instead of going to the opening concert of the Corbridge Chamber Music Festival.

I was so glad that I went. The programme was full of delights, old and new.
Mozart - Clarinet Quintet in A K.581
Ravel - Chansons Madecasses
Schubert - Shepherd on the Rock
Farrenc - Nonet, Op.38

In my picture is the wonderful soprano, Katharine Dain, an American-Dutch soprano, at her first Corbridge Festival. With her is an old friend of mine, Roberto Carillo-Garcia. I first knew him when he was playing double bass in the Northern Sinfonia and came along to help in the early days of the Cobweb Orchestra. (And he remembered me!)

There was a reception afterwards and I met the young French horn player and the oboist. The flute player, Adam Walker was there too. The sound he makes is sublime.

The next concert is tomorrow evening and I can't wait.

There was a seat mix up before the concert. I had the number ST6, which was translated as South Transept 6 by the guide. Someone was in it. I did my best to be charming about asking her to move. She was with a group of newbies who had seats scattered through the South Transept.

Then a man arrived and said that I was in his seat. Sure enough that was his ticket.

Back at mission control (the computer at the rear of the church) it as revealed that I was in the Nave in B9. This is a short row and four people were comfortably seated there. They had to squeeze up to allow a fifth (me) to be added...........  All good fun!

My extra is the wonderful violinist, Lucy Gould. She was giving a short speech and suddenly spotted my camera!!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.