ELLAphant

By Ellaphant

The 'Molen van de Zuidpolder', Edam

'Zuid' = halfway between 'zowt' and 'zide' (really difficult) = means 'south'.
'Molen van de Zuidpolder' = 'South Polder Windmill'

Yes, Edam = 'EY-dam' of the famous cheese, just like Gouda ('Ghow-dah').
The extra shot shows how it looks with its back turned.  I took that shot last year but did not post it because I really wanted a frontal shot for this one (like I do for the rest), there being no other way to shoot it from the other side of that hedge in the background.  Calculated to have been built in 1635, it has never been reconstructed but merely renovated and maintained.  Indeed, the mill in Edam today is pretty much the same one people looked at almost 400 years ago, which is quite impressive.  It was built to maintain the South Polder in that area.  Today, it's a residence.  Judging from the car, I think they were at home when I passed by.

There were clouds when I left but cloud radar indicated a lot of blue in the north mid-afternoon, so I had to go for it.  An uneventful drive except for the busy strip of the A27.  It really needs to be widened but the question has always been 'how'.

At home, a lot of genealogy.  Before I left, AW attached the coat rack in my working room, after which I cleaned the whole room.  After dinner, more genealogy, kitchen duties, and gaming.  Also, an encouraging mail from the Viking where he shared his analysis of what had been going on the previous months and a detailed outline of our next course of action.  A short chat with Mimi as well to update her.  She's now to-and-froing between friends.

Thankful for a full day that wasn't tiring, adrenaline levels stable, chores done.

Comments New comments are not currently accepted on this journal.