Aunty Betty’s

Drove along to Stonehaven for a ‘random reason’ (see below). While there we went to Aunty Betty’s. Voted the best ice cream in Scotland this year. I had rum and raisin + banana. It was nice and the free topping options of nuts, sweets or chocolate was nice. Not sure the best I’ve had in Scotland. Maybe on par with Rizza’s in Huntly. No raisins in the rum and raisin is suspicious.

Random Reason
Our car has a very strange whistle / squeaky type noise. It only occurs when going up a steep-ish hill over 60mph. One it occurred at some traffic lights. I booked in to Mitsubishi to get it looked at. They said if it isn’t a warranty claim then just the diagnostics would cost £104 before any fixes. I was thinking maybe there is a loose panel underneath or something. I called I&K
Motors and luckily got one of their technicians, George. They mentioned that the change to the E10 unleaded has caused an uptick in ‘weird noises’. Try getting your petrol low then full up with the premium E5 unleaded. I knew there is a hill on the way back from Stonehaven where we always have the noise happen. Drove there. Got some bloody expensive petrol. Then ice cream. Then home. Sure enough. No noise on the way home. George! You’ve cracked the case. Very strange though. Given that it only happens rarely (4-5 times on our 1,300 trip earlier in the month) I won’t be buying the super fancy stuff all the time but good to know it isn’t likely something really bad.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.