Groggster

By Groggster

Peacocking

I was outside today deadheading and pruning our rather unruly buddleia shrub at the top of our back garden when several butterflies started fluttering around. I was transfixed at one stage as one actually landed on my garden shears mid prune whilst I was balanced somewhat precariously at full stretch on a step ladder and I stood stock still whilst it momentarily soaked up some early morning sun.
I've loved looking at my fellow blippers images of these beautiful creatures on the same subject so I just thought I'd include my versions too. I don't have a macro lens so this was the closest I could get (the images look better large).
I'm sure any lepidopterists out there are already aware that this is a Peacock butterfly but I must admit I had to look it up. Their spectacular pattern of eyespots evolved to startle and confuse predators and it is from these wing markings that it earned its common name. The undersides of the wings are very dark, which I managed to glimpse as they opened and closed right in front of my eyes, and have the appearance of dead leaves which they use as a form of camouflage.
They are regular visitors to garden buddleias in late summer but being strong flyers with nomadic instincts they also range widely through the countryside, often finding their preferred habitats in the shelter of woodland clearings, rides and edges.
Peacocking is a noun meaning to dress for attention and be proud of your appearance which should definitely apply to these wonderful creatures!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.