Diary of an Edinburgher

By LadyMarchmont

Blast from the past!

I am SO enjoying these football matches every morning. Well done England! What ball skills those women have. A free kick was taken from near the corner, but not kicked high into the group of players in the penalty box, as would be expected, but straight to a lone player standing well outside the box. This player, Lauren James, didn't stop it, steady it and take aim, but just whacked it, mid-flight, into the goal like a bullet. The goalie never had a chance!

Brian came to take Archie out in the afternoon. JR went into town to get some make up stuff from Boots that she forgot to get the other day. And I went to Barbie! I thought I might as well, as I wasn't in the mood for capsule wardrobes. I find that works best at the last minute. Besides, JR wasn't desperate to see it. Suffice to say, I'm definitely NOT the target audience, but I enjoyed it... more than Oppenheimer (which is faint praise indeed).

This is an old photo, which arrived today. I took it, but I haven't seen it for many a long year. And yes, it is Quince, our (soon to be ex) goat, in the back of the car. They were taking him away with them to their place in Tauranga. They had a bit of land up in the hills. They stopped to get petrol and told the chap that they always travelled with their goat…

Quince had overstayed his welcome with us, and used to break into the house at every opportunity when we were out and nibble on all the pot plants (completely stripping the ones he liked), piddle and poo on the beds and sofas. Also, we were both a bit scared of him, because he'd just give you a painful dunt when he felt like it. 

Malc would have been 80 today. Happy days!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.