Brendie

By Brendie

Old canal bridge

I included two photos here, both snapped today, to try and explain things better. I had originally wanted to use the right hand one only.

This is an unused bridge across the Forth and Clyde canal at the Port Dundas basin in Glasgow.

The area was an industrial centre in the 19th century, with textile mills, chemical works, granaries, distilleries, glassworks, iron foundries, power stations and engineering works all operating.

I don't know what this little bridge was for - it presently hangs over the canal water (right). The mechanical mechanism (left) must have moved at one time to allow the bridge to go over the canal at 90 degrees. The rails on it must have been for either steam or horse drawn vehicles to take goods from the barges to service the many factories and industries.

I love trying to work out what things may have been used for.

There's so many more blips I will get in this area!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.