Charlie17

By Charlie17

Dunnock

This is a dunnock or hedge sparrow. In fact, it is not related to a sparrow, except being a bird of course. It is an accentor.
However, it does look like a female house sparrow but a dunnock has a grey head and chest and a more pointed beak.
According to my extensive research, (google) dunnocks are pretty unremarkable birds except for their mating habits. I will let you imagine what these are.
We often see dunnocks in the garden. I've never seen them on the bird feeders, more on the ground searching for seed, a bit like our mice.
Actually, they're nothing like mice, mice can't fly!
This is perhaps the luckiest shot I have taken. The dunnock flew from the ground onto the post. What is the background I hear you ask?
It is a sheet on the washing line.

Sent from my iPad

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.