Grey Heron

There were 3 heron today. The little female (pictured) and the adult male were waiting on top of the dovecote. When I arrived the male flew down followed shortly after by the little female. I fed them both until they had, had enough and flew off. I also fed the crows. I still had some fish so I wandered round the loch to see if there were any other heron. As I got to the clearing I saw a little moorhen making directly to the water edge. I held back until it arrived and as it hobbled out the water I realised it was an injured moorhen I fed a few days ago. I gave it some fish which it tore into, and made my way to the clearing where I was joined by the nervous male who got the rest of the fish.

The extra is the moorhen eating its fish.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.