Grey Heron

There were 3 herons today, the little female (pictured), the nervous male and the young male. They all met me near the entrance to the park. They formed a triangle again with the little female nearest and the other two a few feet away. This makes feeding a lot easier. They all got a good feed as did the crows (no gull today). I saved some back for the moorhen (extra) and as I arrived I saw it swimming over to the edge of the loch. It hobbled out of the water to the fence. (I think it is probably an old injury that hasn't healed properly, however it doesn't seem to hold it back). I gave it a large piece of fish which it got stuck into. I was watching it eat when a magpie stole the fish from it. I gave it another bit and when the magpie returned the moorhen picked up the fish and went over to the water and dropped it the fish in it. The magpie gave up and flew off whilst the moorhen ate the rest of the fish.  

The extra shows the moorhen with the first bit of fish.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.