ayearinthelife

By ayearinthelife

Man In A Long Black Coat

We’re going to the theatre in Llandudno tonight but, as we no longer own the flat we had when we booked the show, we are having to stay over in a hotel to avoid a very long drive home.
As it happens, stoping in the hotel is working out considerably cheaper than owning the flat - we could probably come down and stay in the hotel three or four times in a month and still not have spent as much as we did on Council Tax and service charges each month. And, in a somewhat ironic twist, the hotel is only a hundred yards or so from our old flat!
In order to make the most of our day in the area, we called in at Cheshire Oaks Outlet Village as I had a t-shirt to exchange at the M&S outlet store. Whilst in there, I spotted this wool and cashmere overcoat that fitted perfectly (since losing a chunk of weight, my existing posh coat is way too big for me) and was only £30. Reckoning it would have been well over £100 originally, I decided it was too good a bargain to miss and headed back to the till. When I got there, the assistant delivered the wondrous news that the coat was actually only £15 - by sheer chance we had called in on the last day of a “50% off clearance items” promotion.
Having checked into the hotel, we wandered up into Chester to look at the shops there. We were drawn into M&S and discovered they also had a sale on. Not quite the same reductions as the outlet store, but I found a couple of tops in my size for a very reasonable price.
What started as a simple theatre trip seems to have turned into something of a shopping bonanza. I think that when we go home tomorrow we’d better jump straight on the motorway and not be tempted by any retail parks along the way!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.