Over the Horizon

By overthehorizon

Talent night

Saturday and the day off, sort of at least...Helping some students and putting together something for the spring talent show. Yes, the whole camp gets together for a spring talent show every year! Students, faculty, families, and the local community. Perhaps slightly cheesy but so much fun and another good way to create community. And so much talent! Ha!

Impromptu guitar strumming, fiddle playing, and Irish dancing. I think my favorite was the cool hippie kid dishwasher who belted out the dishroom blues and Brendan and Luke grooving like a bunch of goofs who just don't care to a boy band dance off. For myself, everyone keeps asking me to show my photos from all my travels and so I finally did.

I collected some of my best shots from all over the world, themes of animals, people, landscapes, cityscapes, and a hodge podge of nature, culture, and art at the end. A photography portfolio of moments. We had to awkwardly rearrange and scramble some technical hookups last minute on stage while the whole camp watched. A friend professor jumping up to sing a tune to stall and buy me some time, which was so nice. Slightly anxious and hesitant I finally spooled out the connector wire and connected the audio. The auditorium filling up to the music of Damien Album, a favorite musician I chose for background and there go my photos. I find it hard to say...but it was really wonderful and I affected many people. Applause and that look of smiling wide eyed inspiration looking back at me on many faces, eager questions, and encouragement from friends and shy students or visitors after the show. The last act. It made me proud.

Instead of just trying to capture those most amazing of moments, blipfoto has helped me better see the amazing in every moment and capture it a little bit better. Practice makes perfect, no? So, big thanks.

I decided on this shot for today. Blurred motion of dancing framed against the blank white of the stage background...

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.