We were supposed to be visiting my sister today but when they saw the forecast on Wednesday, they rang and told us in no uncertain terms that we shouldn’t travel. We didn’t have much rain but they did - their lane flooded and we’d have got rather wet & muddy feet getting from the parking space to their path.
So instead I did my usual Friday morning card stall at Warminster Country Market. While I was in Warminster, I popped into the hardware shop. I love shopping there as it’s like stepping back in time to the era of The Two Ronnies’ Four Candles sketch! Sadly though, they’re having a closing down sale. The owner of the building has given the business notice to quit as he wishes to sell up - apparently the property is a significant part of his retirement pot. The owner of the business is also keen to retire - she’s 78 - but she’s disappointed for her staff, some of whom have worked there for 30 or 40 years.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.