View from Snowshill

On Thursday Rob and I popped to Snowshill Manor to see the house and gardens. I knew there was a fantastic collection of artefacts and memorabilia from around the world in the main house but no-one had mentioned it would be almost pitch black in the house. Apparently Charles Wade, the collector, wanted his possessions to be seen by candlelight or a little natural light coming through windows. He wanted people to see form and shape rather than detail.  If I tell you the guides in each room had a torch so they could light up the front of some of the items then you will get the picture. 
One room was full of Samurai armour but I could barely see anything. It wasn't till we got outside and Rob showed me his iphone shot which he has blipped here that I realised how striking the display was. 
Many of the items were just the kind of artefacts I enjoy looking at but I was frustrated to not be able to see things clearly. One room of costumes and jewellery was better lit and I enjoyed it. 
So it was out to the gardens, which were lovely, the stunning views, and the café, which was also great providing you dodged the wasps.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.