Marjorie's ramblings

By walkingMarj

Compact camera test 2

Yesterday I was working with a little Ricoh camera. Today it was the turn of my old Panasonic Lumix TZ5. I wanted to decide which to take as a back up for the Canon 7D and to use when I'm walking (always optimistic you note).

I'm also gathering images of flowers to use in a training day I'll be doing for the North Pennines AONB later this year. I want to show people what they can and can't achieve with a small camera. It's an interesting experience.

This cranesbill is a good doer in our garden, filling in some shady gaps and flowering profusely. I think the Lumix on it's wildflower mode and flash off has done well. A lot of compacts put the flash on automatically for "macro" and I don't always like the result. Try large to see the pollen.

Other news: my planned "mercy dash" to Newcastle to pick up a knee brace for Arth was cancelled because an incorrect brace was sent to the hospital. I had a lovely afternoon nap instead.

One sleep then we are off.

PS I have now posted a different version of the same image with a touch of sharpening - see what you think.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.