ELLAphant

By Ellaphant

Looking Ripe

Not in anyone's garden but along the path.  Makes me wonder if anyone will pick them.  I'd have loved to, but decided not to risk it.

Still felt sorry for the lost 600.  Didn't put on a sour-grapes attitude as I'd travelled far and wide to take them.  Surprisingly, though, or perhaps not, I didn't really think of them as often as I'd expected.  Must be getting better at that sort of thing.  Or is it just that I'm more focused on finding work?  Anyway, I was in bed reading Pamuk's My Name Is Red, when I came across a passage about saving one's work.  I was tired after a while and turned out the light, but the thought stuck, and, suddenly, I had a feeling that I had not lost my tenth folder after all, but had saved it elsewhere, on a USB that I've been preparing for the Windmill Foundation.  Not wasting a moment, I got out of bed, logged in, plugged it in... and there it was!  I quickly copied it back onto the hard drive and then saved it in the two externals.  Issue resolved!  And I should jog my memory more forcefully next time I forget.  What a relief!

A lot of napping.  Supermarket errands.  Kitchen duties.  Finally, at the end of the day, a lot of reading.  Pamuk is an interesting writer.  It took me a year to read the rather thin but horrendously intense 'The White Castle', my type of psychological tour de force that made me wonder why it took me that long to finish it.  Most likely because I was also busy at my previous job and it's the type of book you need to sit down with and confront.  Anyway, now busy with the next Pamuk.  Thankful I have them permanently on my shelf.

And so thankful I got my 600 shots back.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.