Hirundography

By Hirundo

The Three Engineers

I know I was in Birmingham for a day conference about antibiotics, but who who blame me for sneaking out and blipping on such a stunning day?!

This trio are Matthew Boulton, James Watt and William Murdoch. Three of the city's finest. This statue was commissioned to be made by William Bloye in 1939 and was installed in 1956 (regilded in 2006). Originally meant to be part of a new civic centre which never transpired.

Which is fitting, as it now gets a brand new back drop - the new, nearly finished Library of Birmingham you see here. I know some of you know I'm into buildings (my late father was an architect). Regardless, this has got be the most gorgeous piece of modern architecture I have ever seen. Gob-smackingly beautiful.

Q: When can a trio call itself a band?
A: When it's a...
:)

Comments New comments are not currently accepted on this journal.